Ultraísta – “Bad Insect”


This newly formed electronic kraut-pop project began as result of the band members’, “mutual love of Afrobeat, electronic and dance music, visual art, and tequila.” The group consists of Radiohead’s producer Nigel Godrich, multi-instrumentalist Joey Waronker (REM, Elliot Smith, Jack White) and gorgeous lead singer Laura Bettinson (former student at Goldsmiths College in London).

Their 10-track self-titled debut album was released on October 2nd via Temporary Residence and the lead track, “Bad Insect,” is a worthy synth-infused pop song to present a brand new record, loaded with soothing rhythmic percussion. An ominous, bass-heavy intro is the perfect introduction to their sound. Have a listen to a stream of the track or elect to watch the psychedelic video. Full album track list below.

Ultraísta will visit San Francisco on October 22 for a live performance at the Independent.

01. Bad Insect
02. Gold Dayzz
03. Static Light
04. Strange Formula
05. Our Song
06. Easier
07. Smalltalk
08. Party Line
09. Wash It Over
10. You’re Out