Listen to Atoms For Peace “Default” Video [SOTD]


Earlier today, Atoms For Peace, the Thom Yorke super group that includes Joey Waronker (drums), Mauro Refosco (percussion), Flea (bass) and Nigel Goodrich (production & programming) released the first studio recording to date off their upcoming album (still to be named). The single, entitled “Default” features heavy polyrhythmic layering and Yorke’s familiar crooning vocals. With the release of the single, Thom Yorke made this official statement:

You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace.

The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea.

We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live.

The first tune we’d like you hear is Default.

A 12″ vinyl version will follow next month and an album will eventually follow that next year.

The last line will probably bum fans, anxious to hear more–but good things can wait…right?

Below is the official video for the track.