“Miss Misery (Early Version)” by Elliott Smith


Seattle and Portland based label, Kill Rock Stars, have released what could be described alternately as a either a retrospective or overview consisting mostly of Elliott Smith’s non-Dreamworks discography in the form of a 14 track album of greatest hits, for lack of a better term. The album, called An Introduction to contains some of his sparest, most haunting arrangements, including a remastered version of “Last Call” and an early, and in my opinion preferable, version of “Miss Misery” that is slightly different from the cut that made it into “Good Will Hunting” and into the Oscars. Whether you’re a newcomer to Smith’s work or an avid fan this is a solid collection of some of the deceased singer-songwriter’s best work.

Here is the complete track list:

  1. “Ballad of Big Nothing”
  2. “Waltz #2 (XO)”
  3. “Pictures of Me”
  4. “The Biggest Lie”
  5. “Alameda”
  6. “Between the Bars”
  7. “Needle in the Hay”
  8. “Last Call”
  9. “Angeles”
  10. “Twilight”
  11. “Pretty (Ugly Before)”
  12. “Angel in the Snow”
  13. “Miss Misery” (early version)
  14. “Happiness” (single version)

The “Good Will Hunting” soundtrack version of “Miss Misery” was probably the biggest hit of his career but the cut included on this album is, in this humble writer’s opinion, the superior version. But you ought to decide for yourself:

Elliott Smith:“Miss Misery (early version)”: Song removed by request.